A Farewell To Carbs

Dear High Carbs,

It’s not me, it’s YOU. And no, I didn’t get that mixed up. You see, this will be my second serious attempt at cutting you out of my life. In the fall of 2014, I followed the Atkins low carb guidelines for six straight months and was able to lose over 35 pounds. I was a new person, with an unquenchable zeal for life. With a seemingly limitless supply of energy and a quickly shrinking waistline, I pitied my former self. I made a promise that I would never return to my past lifestyle–which was one of pure laziness and poor eating habits. Plans were made for 5k marathons, a Total Gym was purchased, old clothes that became suddenly too big were donated. I was feeling awesome!

barneymarathon

And then.

And then–well, nothing really. I wish I could tell you the exact moment I abandoned ship. But there really was no significant event–life just happened. A few All-You-Can-Eat buffets, one too many pizza deliveries, an abundance of birthday parties complete with cakes–and before you know it, six more months had passed and I had gained back every. single. POUND. No matter how many times I attempted to jump back on the low carb bandwagon, I failed. I had fallen, and hard. I wasn’t for sure if I would ever regain the determination and willpower that I needed to return to healthier eating habits and lose weight.

cantquityou

But TODAY will be that day.

So, this is goodbye for now, high carbs. A ‘Dear John Letter’, of sorts. In order to reach my goals of losing weight, having a healthy future pregnancy, and lower my absurdly high risks of medical problems (thanks to family history)–including diabetes and high blood pressure–I need to follow a low carb lifestyle. I am not a perfect person, but I want this now more than ever before–I finally have the determination and willpower.

goodbyemylover

Sincerely,
Me.

P.S.
..But we’ll always have cookie cake to look back on fondly. Delicious, yummy cookie cake.

cookiemonster

Leave a Reply

