Week One

Starting Weight: 187.7 lbs

-Week One Timeline-
Sunday, December 27, 2015-Saturday, January 2, 2016

SUNDAY (12/27/15)
I woke up this morning with a strong conviction to start my diet with a bang. I planned on doing a ‘liquid cleanse’–that is, I wanted to go the whole day without eating, to try and somewhat jumpstart my re-intro into a low carb lifestyle. Things were going great……..until. 

flooding

I unfortunately live in an area that was strongly affected by the late December 2015 flooding and winter storm known as ‘Goliath’. While this is not a picture of my exact location, my entire neighborhood was going under water, and fast. In the early afternoon, my family and I made a quick decision to abandon ship before we became stranded. We narrowly escaped the rushing waters that tried to carry our car away, and found higher ground with relatives. While we were all thankful to be alive and safe, I was at the mercy of others until Tuesday night, when the waters and ice had receded just enough for us to return home safely, and I was unable to adhere to my strict diet. 

WEDNESDAY (12/30/15)
I woke up this morning almost the polar opposite of how I felt Sunday. After eating junk food and tons of sweets at my relatives house, on top of all of the anxiety from winter storm Goliath, the last thing I wanted to do was start my diet again. I tried my best to do the ‘liquid cleanse’, starting my morning with two cups of herbal tea, one being Matcha (more on that later). I was unsuccessful in avoiding food the whole day as planned, and only made it to lunch. Feeling down, I decided to weigh myself to see if I had put on any weight from the last few days. To my surprise, I had already lost 2 lbs! This was just the pick-me-up I needed to make me regain my motivation and rededicate myself to this lifestyle. The rest of the day went by in a rush.

THURSDAY (12/31/15)
New Years Eve was a pretty busy day for me. I again started my day with two cups of tea, one being Matcha again. For those who don’t know about this magical concoction, one cup of Matcha is equal to TEN cups of green tea! It is full of antioxidants, including the powerful EGCg catechin known for its cancer fighting properties. With the ability to detoxify your body and speed up weight loss, it also doesn’t hurt that this ‘Super Tea’ increases your energy and endurance. Every time I have begun eating low carb, it takes a week or two for my body to recognize that it needs to burn fat instead of carbs for energy, so I am basically useless and lazy for a period of time. But just one cup of Matcha made my energy levels go through the ROOF–I deep cleaned my whole house and cooked/baked up a storm. My stamina was so strong, I had to take an OTC pill to help me sleep that night! Side note: I buy my Matcha tea from my local Walmart. The brand is called Good Earth.

FRIDAY (1/1/16)
Happy New Years! I hope your New Years Day was full of joy and a fresh start. Mine was spent at my relatives home doing laundry for 12 straight hours, thanks to a broken heating element on my dryer and a series of events that led to me being super behind. I knew from earlier in the week that I needed to plan ahead if I was going to remain faithful to my low carb lifestyle by bringing along a meal and a snack. But, as luck would have it, my laundry took twice the amount of time as I expected, and I was now facing dinner time on an empty stomach. It was a bit stressful being only on day 3 of sticking to my diet, and being stuck in a place that doesn’t have any food I can eat/snack on. Thankfully, the good Lord shined down upon me, and my relative spontaneously brought home grilled chicken and steaks for dinner. I devoured them and was able to stay within the guidelines I had set for myself.

SATURDAY (1/2/16)
This was a rough day for me. Diet wise, I was still doing great. All of my meals have been tasty and filling, and I was continuing my morning Matcha tea routine. However, I was overcome by a 24 hour flu, and felt pretty down for most of the day. I got things done around the house, ran some errands, and managed to eat a couple of meals that were satisfying. I was nervous about my weigh in the next morning since I had weighed in mid-week.

CLOSING THOUGHTS:
This was a basic recap of my first week following a low carb eating plan. I will continue to try to make these better and more interesting/detailed as the weeks go on, as well as begin sharing some of my no-nonesense recipes which have helped me be successful in my journey!

-Question of the Week-
What is your favorite tea? Let me know in the comments section below!

One thought on “Week One

Leave a Reply

